Advice for newcomer

Hello to All! What a blessing to have a community to turn to for support and advice. I’m new to ES diagnosis but have been dealing with the symptoms off and on for years. I have neck/head/ mouth pain, balance issues, ear pain, tinnitus, hesitation swallowing, heart palpitations, fatique, and most recently I drool for no reason. I have bilateral elongation but symptoms are only on the left side. I have seen ENT, they treated me for nerve inflammation with oral and injectable steroids. The only symptom resolution was mouth pain and three weeks later it has returned. The ENT did not seem concerned about ES, I return in about 2 weeks for follow up and as I’ve already been dealing with this for several years I’m feeling discouraged. I would appreciate any advice on how to advocate for myself to doctors that seem dismissive. Thank you all in advance!
Angela

1 Like

Welcome Angela! Thank goodness for your dentist. My strong advise would be to switch to doctor who is not dismissive if this is permitted under your insurance plan. You will find a list of doctors with ES experience on this list if you search for “doctor list.” I wish you a very quick journey towards a successful treatment.

Thank you so much for letting me know about dr list.

Hi Angela & welcome to the site!
I’ve sent you a private message with info about the site, & with a link to the doctors list onelessstyloid mentioned. We usually suggest that you could take a copy of research papers with you, there’s links in the Newbies Guide section, that mention symptoms & how successful surgery can be if you need to convince your ENT to treat you, but equally because the surgery can have risks, we advise people to see a doctor with experience. So it might pay you to look at the list & consider a second opinion. It is possible to get good results from surgery, so keep strong, & keep hopeful!

1 Like