What a wild ride!

So long story kind of short :joy:. I have ES Bilaterally and have had intraoral surgeries. My second surgery was about 2 1/2 years ago and about 1 year ago I had a return of symptoms only a bit different and more crippling. I fought for a repeat MRI which showed no styloid regrowth- at which I was stamped crazy :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: by my ENT department. I then had a Myriad of symptoms… neck swelling, inability to drink cold liquids, jaw tightness on the affected side until I eventually developed stridor right before Christmas. I ended up on steroids from another ENT who saw me in an ED for “inflammation “and two days later I was in the ICU on a ventilator.
After being seen and being called a faker by the chief of the ENT department while in the ICU during my 7day stay (where I am a NURSE at this major health system) Someone offered to have our medical Liberians pull all ES related reaserch for me as I was spiraling into a deep depression- I couldn’t eat-sleep-loosing money from all the work I was missing- and in all these case studies I found a little tiny blurb about Glossopharyngeal Neuralgia, and it ONLY being rare because doctors don’t consider it- and it having a close relationship to guess what? STYLOID OSSIFICATION! It went on to list the symptoms and I was so pissed this wasn’t considered I couldn’t see straight! I asked for a referral to a neurologist- one specifically saw my chart asked for my case, and I left her office in tears as if I had won the lottery!!! I am on tegretol and I am eating and sleeping!! And yes I have filed a HUGE grievance!!!

Sorry that you’ve been through so much… glad though that you have found some medication which helps. ES is listed as a possible cause of GPN, I’ve seen it quite a bit while looking into both, so I’m surprised that the doctors didn’t know this.