Why do some doctor operate intraoral and extraoral

I am getting ready to have my styloid process removed by an ENT oncologist. I am curious as to why some surgeons do it extraoral. My ENT oncologist says it is much safer intraoral and just get the process and follow down to the end and take it off and it will not move. There has to be some reason to do it eh other way. It does seem like it would be much more dangerous externally . I want to make sure I am not missing something before I have surgery. He has done some Eagle syndrome surgery’s. I did check on this. I am new to this so I need all the information I can get.
Also did anyone else have problems with Double vision and blurry vision or your optic nerve linning thinning. I read that lower blood flow to the nerve can cause this but the eye doctor said in three months time my lining has gotten extremely thin. Another question. Did anyone get severe weird headaches that the only thing that helped was lying down in bed all day. Shooting pains that burned. The nuerologist and Duke even thought I had a CSF leak and did all the testing and I did not have that and eventually Chapel hill found the elongated styloid process.

Hi adriene61 -

I’m so glad you’ve been diagnosed & have found a surgeon whom you feel is competent to do your ES surgery. Are your second styloid & stylohyoid ligament normal?