Calcified ligaments - UK doctor needed

Hi all,
Newbie here: my dentist discovered yesterday that I have completely calcified stylohyoid ligaments. It explains a LOT!
I have looked through posts regarding UK doctors and Dr Patrick Axon seems to be very highly regarded. However there are a couple of comments saying that he is dragging things out and taking a very long time to do anything. I want this sorting quickly, for obvious reasons!
Is the delay because of a long waiting list and him being extremely busy, or is he reluctant to operate on patients these days?
We are in coastal North Yorkshire; if anyone has other doctor suggestions.
Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @Jacqui - Welcome to our forum! Mr. Axon used to do ES surgeries regularly especially for those who needed vascular decompression, but the medical board, under whose auspices his practice falls, changed their policies regarding ES surgeries which has very much hampered the frequency with which he’s able to do them & has also required much more specific patient selection thus resulting in less patients being offered surgery & longer wait times to be seen by him, unless you pay privately.

Mr. Hughes in London has recently been a go to for a number of our British members. He is also a very experienced ES surgeon & so far doesn’t have the limitations that have been put on Mr. Axon.

•Mr Jonathan Hughes, London (ENT, published an article in ‘Top Doctors’ website) Sore throat diagnosis - Eagle syndrome .
Mr Jonathan Hughes : University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (uclh.nhs.uk) Practices privately with the Circle Health Group in London

1 Like

Hi @Jacqui welcome to the forum :smiley:

1 Like

Thank you, that makes sense. So is Dr Axon willing to operate, without a long wait, on private patients? There is a chance my health insurance might cover it.

He’s with Spire health care: