Electric sharp pain on right side of tongue

Hi there,

I am new to the blog. I'm looking for not only support but also education about ES. I was diagnosed two years ago. At that time the CT scan of my neck tissue showed a 2.6 cm right stylomandibular ligament that is calcified with a 1.6 on the left. I was told I was just a few millimeters away from the classic diagnosis. Now two years later the pain on the right side of my tongue (my only symptom) has increased dramatically often bringing me to tears when I eat or drink.

I am having a lot of trouble understanding this diagnosis and finding the expertise in Oklahoma is nearly impossible. I have seen a neurologist and an oral surgeon who recommended surgery.

Is there anyone out there with this particular symptom that can maybe help me understand?

Thanks in advance....

KALS

The electric, sharp pain you describe sounds like it could be from a nerve. Perhaps the ligaments are compressing a nerve to the tongue? The styloid processes have attachments going from them to the tongue- I found moving my tongue was very painful which has been helped by surgery. If it is nerve pain it could perhaps be helped by some of the medications suited to that e.g. Gabentin, Neurontin, Lyrica, Amitriptyline.

Have you looked at the doctors list- is there anyone near who could help you?

Hi Jules,

Thanks for the quick response. I failed to mention that I took Neurontin for about a year or so but quit because 1) I still had pain and 2) it made me very "loopy" even a reduced dosage. Unfortunately when I stopped I hardly noticed any difference at all. The pain has gone dormant at times but it's been increasing dramatically over the last few months.

Can you explain the styloid processes? It is my understanding that the calcification on the ligament is what's pressing onto the glossopharyngeal nerve which is what's causing the pain in my tongue.