Newbie here but veteran sore throat

About 9 years ago, I had this sore throat that wouldn’t go away. My doctors believed it was reflux, and I was treated for it for many years. My GI and ENT kept tweaking my reflux meds, suggesting lifestyle changes, etc, all without any results. Finally, I had a ph impedance test done that showed I was not refluxing. So, we tried looking into allergies, muscle tension dysphonia, and nerve pain. Again, no change in my symptoms- sore, tight throat, difficulty swallowing, pain that radiates into my head and ears. I came across Eagles, and I asked my ent about it. He said it’s a diagnosis that isn’t really used. I remembered that my dentist did a panoramic x-ray a couple years ago, so I asked for that image. Sure enough, I think I see some styloids. Now I’m on the hunt for a doctor to order a ct. If that confirms what I think I’m seeing in the x-ray, I’ll pursue a surgeon that specializes in eagles. Whew, this journey and the pain is exhausting. Thanks for having me here!

3 Likes

Your journey sounds just like mine except mine started Oct 2019 with the sore throat that wouldn’t go away with pain and numbness all up and down left side of face, neck, throat, temple, and scalp. Different health practitioners were pushing that it was acid reflux but I was having none of it since I knew I didn’t suffer from it.

Then suggested it was muscle, esophageal spasms, or they just shrugged shoulders. When it all started though, I searched for my symptoms “stabbing pain in throat” and Eagle Syndrome came up. All my symptoms fit however when i asked about it, noone looked. It wasn’t until Jan 2022 that it was found on an old 2019 CT. Heck it even showed up on Apr 2019 panoramic and i had no idea I could ask for imaging!

My advice is to keep pushing and advocating. When you know something is wrong, you just know.

Siren, what is next for you? Will you consult a surgeon?