Surgery questions

Hello my fellow eaglets! (does anyone find that offensive? I'm trying to be light hearted)

I was diagnosed w ES about 6 weeks ago, and my ENT put me on anti inflammatories for a month. Sadly, it didn't help at all. I met with him again this morning and I'm afraid surgery is my only option.

I'm really wrestling with what to do. I am in pain, but not so much that I can't work or live my life. I have other medical conditions that require me to be on pain meds daily, and the ES pain cuts through that, which is scary to think how much pain I'd be in without them. I am a recruiter by profession and that requires me to be on the phone a large portion of my workday. I'm finding that to be challenging.

I'm wondering how long people were out of work post surgery (I work from home, so suspect I can be up and running faster than those who work in an office, since I can work in my jammies if needed). I'm just wondering how much of my life is going to be impacted and for how long. My doc thinks it will be a small incision (an inch or so) and he's going to try to put it in a natural bend in the skin on my neck.

I'm nervous and rambling. I think it's the fact that I have a choice. The only other surgery I've ever had was to repair a broken foot, so I didn't have time to think about it, it was a given.

Any advice or support would be awesome!

My best to all,

Stephanie

Charleston, SC

1 Like

Hi MiniFury, I've had 5 Eagles surgeries and was out of work for 2 weeks after 4 of them. If I worked at home, I think I could have pretty easily gone back after a week. I was out for several months after the other surgery because the surgery damaged some nerves that went down my body and I had quite a hard time recovering from that one. But if I was working from home, I think I could have gone back much sooner.