Symptoms of IVJ compression

My 28 yo son (dx w ES n IVJ compression on (L)) complains of extremity numbness w working out… Now I am new to Eagle Syndrome n am a retired PA so I’m pretty familiar w anatomy n physiology but I don’t know what to make of some of the things he complains about. Please all of you w hx of or currently have IVJ compression, simply list all of ur sx (minor n major) u experience (or have experienced). Much appreciated!

There’s info about vascular ES in the Newbies Guide Section if you’ve not seen it, here’s a link:
ES Information: Common Symptoms And Possible Explanations For Them - Welcome / Newbies Guide to Eagle Syndrome - Living with Eagle
I had bilateral jugular compression, I never experienced the numbness your son’s had, although it could potentially be from accessory nerve compression, or possibly vagus nerve compression?
I had a constant off-balance feeling, like being drunk, head and ear pressure, headaches if I laid flat, dizzy spells, feelings of falling, felt like I was shorter/ closer to the floor, falling sensation & some weird sort of rolling, sucking sensation in my head, as well as tiredness & brain fog. I stopped working out because of the head pressure…

2 Likes

Thank you so much, that’s very enlightening. I’ve been having a difficult time navigating the site but am working on it. The link is most appreciated. The more I learn about ES the more concerned I become - probably more a “mom thing” than anything I suppose…

2 Likes

Since your son has been diagnosed w/ vascular ES, the best doctor for him to see a Dr Hepworth in Denver. It will take awhile for you to get in for an appt because he books out pretty far but it’s worth the wait to see him.