Symptoms without Eagle's

Briefly: I’ve seen 4 ENTs and countless other docs in the four years I’ve been dealing with this. My symptoms are very similar to many of yours but despite multiple scans (incl CT with contrast), I haven’t been diagnosed with ANYTHING. Recently I had a panoramic X-ray done as part of my routine dental care and I asked the dentist about my styloids. He was familiar with Eagle’s but (like all the others) said there was no evidence of ES.

The only thing that anyone can find is that my cervical spine is reversed in its curve. It’s pretty extreme. I’m not a medical professional and I can see it as clear as day on my CT and other X-rays.

I’m scheduled to have an MRI this weekend to look for possible nerve problems (pinched nerve, nerve root irritation.

Generally, symptoms include burning, stabbing pain in throat, ear pain, jaw pain, and lump in throat sensation, tinnitus, among others.

My question is this: are there any other conditions that mimic ES without elongated styloids?

As always, thanks for your insight and support! I’m so grateful for this site and all of you!

Hi Chrissy,

I’m not sure if there are other things that mimic ES, but we have learned that it’s not necessarily the length of the styloid that causes problems. Excessively thick or steeply angled, shorter styloids can also cause symptoms. Calcified stylo-hyoid ligaments w/ normal length styloids can also cause ES symptoms & are in fact considered ES.

There’s info in the Newbies Guide about other conditions similar to ES, if you’re able to have a trawl through that! The sensation of something in your throat is called ‘globus sensation’, although there’s not always a cause found for it- here’s a link: https://patient.info/health/globus-sensation-leaflet .