What to expect from surgery - please respond

HI All,

I couldn't sleep last night. I had so much pain in my neck and thru my throat. I am stressed out about the idea of surgery and recovery time. I really want to hear what recovery looks like, especially when it is via neck.

I am self-employed and have to really plan on how I could afford to lose time at work. Please let me know what your experiences have been like. Mainly - how soon could I realistically be back with clients, in person without having obvious physical issues? I'm a real estate agent - sitting in open houses, gaining customer confidence, etc.

I want to be real about my expectations so that I have the best shot of being prepared financially. I want to talk to my broker and review this with her.

Thank you so much for all your feedback! It is really helpful. :)

Hi JCW

I'm not sure what type of surgery you are having. You mention the neck so I am assuming external. That is the surgeries I had. I did the right last May and the left in December. The surgery was on a Wednesday I rested until Sunday and back to work on Monday. Everyone is different. I am feeling so much better now. Best I have felt in a year. Wish you all the best. The surgery was not that bad at all the pain level for me was only the second and third day. Stayed on the pain meds and it was endurable with no problems. I have numbness still on both sides but it does not bother me. I am already wearing my full face helmet with no issues. The right side took about four months to where it was not noticeable at all but I still have a small area that is numb.

I hope this helps and don't stress it will all be good.

Kevin

I can't say for the eagles surgery specifically, but I had a craniectomy and multivascural decompression of my trigeminal nerve last April, which I was told is a more serious surgery than for eagles, for mine they punch a hole in the skull behind your ear.