Surgery in a week

I’m having my surgery (external for calcified ligament) on the 10th in Baltimore. Any pre-op tips? I am an elementary teacher and am wondering how long others recovery has taken. Should I request anything specific to help with the pain afterward?

Thank you in advance!

You could send a private email to seamom as she is also a teacher but I think high school. She had both styloids & ligaments removed last year but hasn’t been on the site for a bit. She could certainly speak to how it affected her as far as teaching goes.

Recovery tips are as follows:
Stick to your pain med schedule as prescribed - don’t worry about becoming addicted - that won’t happen in the week or 2 that you need to take them.
Get gel ice packs & ice your neck 3-5x/ day - 15 min on & at least 45 min. off to help w/ pain & swelling. To accompany your pain meds, make sure you have a laxative & stool softener - pain meds are very constipating & w/ a sore neck you, don’t want that!!
Get a wedge pillow (Bed Bath & Beyond sells a decent one) so you can sleep w/ your head elevated. 30º elevation was recommended to me (practically sitting up) but I found I couldn’t sleep if my head was lower than that as my throat would swell). You’ll probably need it for at least a couple of weeks.
Most important - Listen to your body. Don’t run out the door the first time you start to feel good. Step back into your daily routine very gradually. Rely on family/friends to help you for at least the first week & maybe beyond. My 2 biggest mistakes were cutting my pain meds back too soon & trying to get back to my life too quickly. These 2 things probably set my healing back a couple of weeks.
Remember that nerves can get irritated or damaged during surgery. They do recovery but slowly - sometimes it takes up to a year. Don’t fret if you have nerve pain that isn’t gone in a week or 2.

That’s it for the moment. I’m sure others will pitch in w/ their thoughts.
So glad you’re set to have surgery!

:blush: