Lucky to work in NHS

I work as a Senior Radiographer in the UK - if I didn’t, I would have given up on myself almost before I started.

I am very fortunate to have been offered surgery on my RT. Styloid with extensive calcification .
This would not have happened but for my job.

I am 63yrs old and have had various “neck up” symptoms for untold years, some irritating, some disturbing, all degrading my quality of life.

In 2014 I had a Pacemaker inserted for AV node block ?? necessary ??? caused by ES, I will never know. About 3 months later I suffered a minor TIA but a 100% diagnosis was not possible as my PM excluded me from MRI examination, a Consultant later corrected me sternly saying “excuse me presumed TIA” strange that I had been put on Atorvastatin and Clopidogrel on his direction. I had, however, submitted to CT Carotid Angiography where although my calcification was not reported on "Substantial calcification encompassing the Rt. Internal Carotid " which made assessment of narrowing “difficult to assess but presumed greater than 50%”. Doppler US did not confirm this.

On a separate occasion, back at work, I asked a respected ENT Consultant Radiologist to review my detailed CT for evidence of physical cause for my tinnitus, his exclamation of “ohh look your Stylohyoid ligaments are almost completely calcified” LITERALLY rings in my ears today ( pun probably intended !)