Fractured SP?

Hi everyone. Has anyone found that their Stylohyoid Process bone is actually BROKEN, with part of it sticking into the tissue in their throat? I just used Slicer to create the 3D images of my CT, and discovered that myself. It appears that the side where I have had the most pain and chronic voice pain/voice problems is literally broken. It finally explains…everything. I’m a professional singer and I knew something was wrong with my voice beyond what anyone had seen or diagnosed up until now. Insane.

Has anyone else had this and successfully gotten it removed and recovered?? I am terrified about if there will be a positive outcome and recovery. I just contacted Dr Samji’s office.

See photo attached…

Thank you so much everyone for your thoughts.

Hi jessicarae87,

There have been several members who have fractured styloids & have had successful ES surgeries. Styloid fractures have been known to be caused by sneezing, coughing & laughing. It doesn’t take a traumatic injury to break one.

I have to say, that in my non-medical opinion, yours looks less like it’s fractured & more like there calcification on your stylohyoid ligament just below your styloid process. I can’t tell for sure, but it also looks like you may have a little ligament calcification at the hyoid bone end of things. I had “spotty” calcification on my stylohyoid ligaments not a nice straight shot of calcification. Any calcification on the ligament impedes its ability to move freely & thus can affect the movement of the hyoid bone & other connective tissues/muscles in the area as well as cause nerve irritation.