Suggestions on how to stay strong?

I am currently in my third year of college for a BFA acting program, that if I leave the only way I could come back is if I started all 4 years over again. The reason for this is because all BFA acting programs across the united states choose the class they want as an ensemble through acting the 4 years, so if I leave I can’t go back, and all my acting credits are practically useless to another degree. I have an appointment this Friday with Dr. Hepworth, but I am in excruciating pain, fatigued, and have horrible brain fog. It’s so hard to stay in the program but throughout the 3 years somehow I have managed it. But this year my pain and brainfog have accelerated greatly and I’m questioning if my agony is worth the degree.

I’m sorry you’re in a time of symptoms flare, hyperichard! So frustrating when that happens. Try to figure out if certain head positions make your symptoms worse then avoid those if possible. That could help settle at least some of your symptoms. Continue w/ icing your neck on your bad days or try heat if ice doesn’t help. I’ll pray for you & hope for a better week this week. :hugs:

The BFA acting program sounds intense & rigorous. I don’t understand that level of inflexibility for students who might have some sort of hardship requiring a break during the four years. How many days can you take off from your program for illness or surgery & not get dropped? Surely you have a bit of wiggle room in that program since almost no one has perfect health for 4 years running. Is there any vacation time figured in for Thanksgiving, Christmas, Winter, Spring breaks? If so, you can plan surgery at one of those times & minimize your time off school.

2 Likes