Can it come back after surgery?

I had my surgery a year ago. Had my left tonsil and styroid removed. Yesterday my throat was swollen and was hard to swallow anything let alone trying to breath. So i decided to put my finger where it was removed before and there is another sharp lump in my throat. My question is can it come back? Has this happened to anyone before?

Yes it can come back… I Mahdi surgery on my left side in 2011. I am a teacher and caught a cold from my little ones this fall, all of the sudden I had the same kind of pain as before. I found the lump again and scheduled an appointment with my ENT. I was in his office explaining that I thought it was back, he kept saying it can’t grow back. Over and over. I finally asked him to feel the lump and tell me what he thought it was, as he was feeling in my throat he kept saying it can’t come back, then he touched the lump and said “oh my, it is back!”. I had a ct done a a week later and sure enough the left side is elongated again! I am having surgery again on Thursday and I am terrified this thing will come back again! The styloid is visible in my throat and food keeps getting stuck when I swallow. This time the doc wants to be more aggressive and he wants to take my tonsil out too. I am worried about the whole thing!

Thanks so much for your reply and good luck and God Bless you on your surgery day!!! I lived with eagles for 13 years When I was 10 was diagnosed with chronic headaches. Finally last August I became very very sick and when I was throwing up it felt like a piece of chicken bone was stuck in my throat. I was then told by one ent its possible I have a tumor in my throat, then did a CAT scan and MRI of my head and throat, came back negative and seeked out another ent